马德拉的一家IT公司为工业物联网进行创新

马德拉岛发展协会

下载PDF
原文

互相交谈的机器是一个新的现实,不再是好莱坞大片中的幻想。我们去跑步,我们的健身手环将信息传达给手机。我们通过一个应用程序向咖啡机发送信号,当我们穿过门口时,一杯热饮就在等着我们。哦,对了,如果需要,我们还可以远程启动洗衣机。

这些设备给人类带来了更多的舒适,我们都很感谢一些帮助,这样我们就不需要离开我们的椅子。

但是,如果问题的关键不在于你的手机关灯的选择,而是威胁到生命的情况呢?或者是一个有可能给你的生产带来巨大损失的意外事件?或者反过来说--一个比你的竞争者更有优势的黄金机会?

这个机器对机器的通信领域以工业物联网(IIoT)的共同名称存在。 专家表示,IIoT不再是 "下一个大事件",而是生产企业的当前需求.更有甚者,不久之后,机器和商业软件之间的实时通信将不是让你站在对手之上的东西,而是--除非实施--将使发展陷入困境。

有趣的是,这个工业物联网的创新领域与葡萄牙,特别是与马德拉岛紧密相连。在这个岛上,一家国际公司 Connecting Software 已经开设了办公室,为更好的制造和工业流程创造解决方案。

为什么是马德拉?

Thomas Berndorfer是一位奥地利和德国的企业家,他在2017年推出了Connecting Software的马德兰办事处。这是该公司继维也纳总部、斯洛伐克的第一个开发中心和美国的销售办事处之后的第四个地点。自开业以来,岛上的团队一直在不断壮大。

"最初,我们来到马德拉岛是因为它是一个很好的居住地,对这个部门并没有大的计划。但在最初的几个月里,我们发现了积极的软件开发人员、优秀的人才和积极的政治和经济因素,现在打算进一步发展",首席执行官托马斯-贝恩多尔夫说。该公司已经扩大了岛上的营销部门,增加了一个测试团队,并计划增加客户支持。

最近,Connecting Software也被 打了一个电话 为首席技术官和其他职位 - 不仅为当地人,也为希望在天堂生活和工作的国际专家。

马德拉和IIoT(工业物联网)

马德拉的团队与斯洛伐克一起,为各种部门和企业创造了整合和同步解决方案。它最近的一个产品是工厂的生产机器和每个人的桌面上的标准业务系统之间的连接器。 目前,我们认为,它是世界上唯一能够使机器和业务系统以相同语言 "交谈 "的解决方案。

想象一下,在一个工厂里,每台机器都会产生大量的数据:它是否正常运转,是否过热,消耗多少能源,材料是否足够,等等。如果所有这些重要的信息以易于阅读的图表、图像和警报的形式实时出现在经理的桌面上,如ERP或CRM的标准业务应用程序,那该多好啊,对吗?通常情况下,业务系统不会理解生产设备的 "说法",但Connecting Software的解决方案可以作为两者之间的翻译。

这家IT公司所做的事情是革命性的。其 OPC-UA连接器 只需要开发人员的基本技能,就可以在三小时内学会机器数据和商业软件的整合。如此简单的整合是可能的,因为该解决方案使用了开发者之间唯一的通用语言,每个开发者都熟悉。根据首席执行官Thomas Berndorfer的说法,与从头开始的编程整合相比。 OPC-UA连接器将代码减少到90%以下.它导致了更少的错误和建设迭代,节省了开发人员昂贵的工作时间。

OPC-UA连接器的另一个革命性的特点是,客户可以选择如何启动它:在云中,在企业内部或混合。这对那些生产设施远离城市区域和强大的互联网覆盖的公司来说尤其重要:通过云端整合将是一个坏主意。最后,安全问题是至关重要的:企业内部整合不容易被拦截或黑客攻击。

实际应用

那么,为什么该公司的产品如今如此重要?它能够更快地收集、交换和分析数据--并为更明智的商业决策创造有价值的见解。根据 Genpact 研究所, 81%组织认为,成功采用IIoT对未来的成功至关重要。

IIoT系统有助于在机械发生缺陷之前预测这些缺陷,并在零件发生故障或机器发生故障之前采取行动。

现场服务技术人员可以发现客户设备中的潜在问题,并在给客户带来不便之前解决这些问题。

IIoT应用连接了石油和天然气、公用事业和制造业等行业的机器和设备。IIoT的部署可以防止高风险的情况,甚至是危及生命的事件。

最后,机器与商业软件的同步可以减少时间和成本,因为不再需要手动插入数据和纠正人为的错误。在生产中实施IIoT还有许多其他好处,商业界越来越明白,机器数据和桌面软件的互联不是心血来潮,而是今天的必备品。

下一步是什么?

有一种刻板印象,认为只有那些成熟的大公司才有必要并且有能力在业务系统中整合机器数据。这并不完全是这样。

"与OPC-UA连接器的集成对于中小型生产来说是绝对负担得起的。此外,你可以只用几台机器开始同步,然后再扩大规模",Connecting Software的CEO Thomas Berndorfer说。该公司的专家可以提供免费培训,并帮助找到最适合您业务需求的解决方案。

世界正在发生变化,而变化的速度也在增加。现在就加入IIoT运动,确保你的企业在未来几年的成功。

An IT company in Madeira innovates for the Industrial Internet of Things

Sociedade Desenvolvimento Madeira

Download PDF
Original article

Machines that talk to each other is a new reality and not fantasy from Hollywood blockbusters anymore. We go for a run and our fitness bracelet communicates information to the mobile phone. We send a signal to the coffee maker via an app and a cup of a hot drink is waiting for us as we are crossing the doorway. Oh yes, and we start a washing machine remotely if needed.

These devices bring more comfort to humans, and we all appreciate some help so that we don’t need to leave our chair.

But what if the issue at stake is less of an option to switch off the light from your mobile but a life-threatening situation? Or a mishap that risks bringing huge losses to your production? Or vice versa – a golden chance to get a head start over your competition?

This area of machine to machine communication exists under a common name of the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT). Experts say that IIoT is no longer the “next big thing” but the current need of production companies. Even more, soon real-time communication between machines and business software will not be something that puts you on a pedestal above rivals but – unless implemented – will cripple development.

Interestingly, this innovative area of the Industrial Internet of Things is closely connected with Portugal, and particularly with Madeira. Here on the island, an international company Connecting Software has opened its office and creates solutions for better manufacturing and industrial processes.

Why Madeira?

Thomas Berndorfer is an Austrian-German entrepreneur who launched the Madeiran office of Connecting Software in 2017. It is the fourth location of the company after the headquarters in Vienna, first development hub in Slovakia and a sales office in the USA. Since the opening, the team on the island has been constantly growing.

“Originally, we came to Madeira because it is a wonderful place to live and didn’t have big plans for this division. But in the first months we found motivated software developers, good people and positive political and economic factors, and now intend to grow even more”, says the CEO Thomas Berndorfer. The company has expanded the marketing department on the island, added a testing team and plans to add customer support.

Recently, Connecting Software has also made a call for the Chief Technical Officer and other positions – not only for locals but also for international experts who want to live and work in a paradise.

Madeira and IIoT (Industrial Internet of things)

Together with Slovakia, the team of Madeira creates integration and synchronization solutions for a variety of sectors and businesses. One of its most recent products is a connector between production machines in a factory and standard business systems on everybody’s desktop. Currently, we think, it is the only solution in the world which enables machines and business systems to “talk” in the same language.

Imagine a factory where each machine produces a lot of data: if it is functioning correctly, if it is not overheated, how much energy it is consuming, if the material is enough, etc. How great it would be if all this important information appeared real-time on a manager’s desktop in the form of easy-to-read graphs, images and alerts within the standard business applications like ERP or CRM, right? Normally, business systems would not understand what production equipment “says” but Connecting Software’s solution acts as a translator between both.

What the IT company has done is revolutionary. Its OPC-UA Connector requires only basic skills from a developer and allows to learn integration of machine data and business software within three hours. Such easy integration is possible because the solution uses the only universal language among developers, familiar to every developer. According to the CEO Thomas Berndorfer, compared to programming integration from scratch, OPC-UA connector reduces the code to up to 90%. It leads to fewer bugs and building iterations, saving developer’s expensive work time.

Another revolutionary feature of the OPC-UA connector is that the client can choose how to launch it: in the cloud, on-premises or hybrid. It is especially important for companies whose production facilities are based far from urban zones and strong Internet coverage: integration through a cloud would be a bad idea. Finally, safety concerns are crucial: on-premises integration is less prone to interception or hacking.

Practical application

So why is the company’s product so important nowadays? It enables collecting, exchanging and analyzing data faster – and creates valuable insights for smarter business decisions. According to the Genpact Research Institute, 81% organizations believe that successful adoption of IIoT is critical to future success.

IIoT systems help to predict defects in machinery before they occur and act before a part fails or a machine goes down.

Field service technicians can identify potential issues in customer equipment and fix the problems before they inconvenience customers.

IIoT applications connect machines and devices in such industries as oil and gas, utilities and manufacturing. IIoT deployment can prevent high-risk situations or even life-threatening events.

Finally, synchronization of machines with business software can reduce time and costs by removing the need to manually insert the data and correct human-made mistakes. There are many other benefits of implementing IIoT in production, and business world understand more and more that interconnected machine data and desktop software is not a whim but today’s must-have.

What is the next step?

There is a stereotype that only big well-established companies have the need and can afford integration of machine data in business systems. It is not exactly so.

“Integration with the OPC-UA connector is absolutely affordable for small and medium-size productions. Besides, you can start synchronization with only several machines and then scale it up”, says the CEO Connecting Software Thomas Berndorfer. The company’s experts can provide free training and help to find the solution which fits your business needs best.

The world is changing, and the speed of changes is increasing as well. Join the IIoT movement now and ensure the success of your business in the years to come.