奥地利夫妇在马德拉岛的技术成果超前

António Larguesa - Jornal de Negócios

下载PDF
原文

Connecting Software公司总部设在维也纳,并在斯洛伐克和美国设有办事处,在丰沙尔设立了一个技术中心。 其中有12人已经在工作,并发现了超过税收优惠。 Connecting Software预计很快将在丰沙尔的团队增加到二十几名员工。

Thomas和Maria Berndorfer在特内里费度假时,听到一个关于欧洲避税天堂的广播节目,特别是加那利群岛和马德拉岛。由于斯洛伐克政府(他们在那里安装了第一个开发中心)的税收正在增加,他们研究了更多关于这个国家和马德拉岛离岸公司的税收条件。Connecting Software的首席执行官告诉Negócios,"我们来到丰沙尔并爱上了这个美妙的岛屿"。

除了税收优惠,这是2017年投资决定的起源,这对奥地利夫妇对当地的支持感到惊讶--从政治到大学--并发现 "一个雄心勃勃的国家,努力变得更好",在这个国家,"经济危机似乎已经引起了人们心态的积极变化"。原本只是一个有五个人的代表处,现在已经成为一个技术中心,已经有12人,预计很快就会达到20人。

"我们从引进开发人员开始,由于成果出色,我们现在在这里有'软件测试人员',我们还建立了一个营销部门。下一步是增加一个支持团队。我们对其潜力深信不疑。而且,在未来,我们可以扩展到巴西,因为这里靠近美国,而且语言相同。"这位企业家指出,他在2007年意识到公司在使用各种不兼容的应用程序时的困难,并建立了一个提供平台和产品以整合和同步软件的业务。

只有用自己的投资--"他不想因为把银行或风险资本引入公司而影响他的愿景",他在马拉奇创建了斯洛伐克的业务,因为有税收优势,劳动力成本较低,而且离维也纳的总部很近;然后在丹佛(科罗拉多)开设了一个商业办事处,为美国客户提供服务,然后进入国际商业中心,也就是马德拉自由贸易区。

Connecting Software的年营业额约为200万欧元,目前有12个国家的约40名员工。它的客户遍布全球一百个国家,共有一千名来自公共和私人部门的客户。加拿大的司法部和议会、新西兰的几个政府服务部门或大型私营公司,如Securitas(安全)或英国Compass集团(被认为是世界上最大的食品服务供应商)都是这种情况。

向Connecting Software首席执行官THOMAS BERNDORFER提出的问题

"罢工是一件令人烦恼的事情"

为什么马德拉岛有吸引力?

除了较低的税收外,领先的Connecting Software还列出了与技术投资者有关的、在这个群岛上发现的其他因素。

地方支持

到达丰沙尔后,他发现 "当地有很多支持":在政治层面,通过投资办公室,在大学,以及在自由区的顾问Mad.Intax的税务建议。

生活质量

"如果我可以生活在天堂,为什么要在寒冷的北方[欧洲]或发达城市地区工作?"生活质量,包括自然、食物或好天气,设法 "吸引来自世界各地的人才"。

远竞争

对于那些 "重视低流量和与团队的长期合作关系 "的人来说,在一个小地区并对 "当地运营商有更多的影响 "是一个好处,而在其他国家他们面临更多的竞争。

时间区间

正是在美国,40%的软件许可证被售出。"而且有了马德拉时区,你可以与欧洲合作,开放时间与西海岸和东海岸重叠,这很舒服,也很有效。"

这位商人批评葡萄牙政府 "强迫公司像对待孩子一样对待员工"。

你在葡萄牙作为投资者的经验如何?在美国和奥地利,个人接管自己的生活。人们感到个人主义和做决定的自由。在葡萄牙,古老的思想使人难以迅速成功。政府责成公司对有关雇员的一切负责,并把他们当作孩子。有时这甚至令人尴尬,尤其是当你的团队中有高素质的专家时。罢工也是一件令人烦恼的事情,因为它们大大减少了工作的流动。在这里,人们希望有人能为他们解决事情。作为一个投资者,我更喜欢与那些知道自己想要什么以及如何实现的人合作。

最大的挑战是什么?

到目前为止,是缺乏对文化的了解。好的生意需要稳定。任何市场,本身就足够不可预测,所以你需要与政府以及与公司内外的人保持可持续的关系。然后,你就可以像一个企业家一样行事--因为你知道该期待什么。但我对这一年半的条件感到满意。我很感谢马德拉岛的开放性和对我的欢迎。我们很高兴能在这里发展,雇佣更多的人,并为此纳税。

Austrian couple outpaced the technological results in Madeira

António Larguesa - Jornal de Negócios

Download PDF
Original article

Connecting Software, headquartered in Vienna and with offices also in Slovakia and the US, has opened a technology center in Funchal, where 12 people already work at and found more than tax benefits. Connecting Software expects to soon increase the team in Funchal up to two dozen employees.

Thomas and Maria Berndorfer were on vacation in Tenerife when they heard a radio program about tax havens in Europe, in particular, the Canary Islands and Madeira. As the government of Slovakia, where they had installed the first development center, taxes were increasing, they researched more about the country and the tax conditions for companies in the Madeiran offshore. "We came to Funchal and fell in love with this wonderful island", Connecting Software's CEO tells Negócios.

In addition to the tax benefits, which were at the origin of the investment decision made in 2017, the Austrian couple was surprised by the local support - from politics to the university - and to find "an ambitious country that strives to become even better" and in which "the economic crisis seems to have caused a positive change in people's mentality". What was expected to be a mere representation office with five people, has become a technological hub that already has 12 people and is expected to reach two dozen soon.

"We started by bringing in developers and, thanks to the excellent outcomes, we now have 'software testers' here and we have also created a marketing department. The next step is to add a support team. We are convinced about the potential. And, in the future we can expand to Brazil because of the proximity to the US and speaking the same language", points out the entrepreneur, who in 2007 realized the difficulties of companies when using various incompatible applications, and set up a business that provides a platform and products to integrate and synchronize the software.

Only with his own investment - "he did not want to compromise his vision by bringing banks or venture capital into the company", he created the Slovak operation in Malacky because of the tax advantage, lower labor costs, and the proximity to the headquarters in Vienna; and then opened a commercial office in Denver (Colorado) to serve American customers, before entering the International Business Center, known as the Madeira Free Trade Zone.

With an annual turnover of around two million euros, Connecting Software currently employs around 40 people of 12 nationalities. It has customers in a hundred countries worldwide, with a total of one thousand customers from the public and private sectors. This is the case with the Ministry of Justice and Parliament in Canada, with several government services in New Zealand or with large private companies, such as Securitas (security) or the British Compass Group, which is considered the world's largest supplier of food services.

QUESTIONS TO THOMAS BERNDORFER CEO of Connecting Software

"Strikes are a bothersome thing"

Why is Madeira Island attractive?

In addition to the lower taxes, the leading Connecting Software lists other factors relevant to technology investors and found in this archipelago.

LOCAL SUPPORT

Upon arriving in Funchal, he has found "a lot of local support": at the political level, through the investment office, at the university, and in the tax advice of consultant Mad.Intax in the Free Zone.

QUALITY OF LIFE

"Why work in the cold of the North [European] or in developed urban areas, if I can live in paradise?" The quality of life, which includes nature, food, or good weather, manages to "attract talents from all over the world".

FAR COMPETITION

For those who "value low flow and long-term partnerships with the team", it is a benefit to be in a small region and to have "more influence over local operators", while in other countries they face more competition.

TIMEZONE

It is in the US that 40% of software licenses are sold. "And with the Madeira time zone, you can work with Europe and have opening hours overlapping the west and east coast, which is comfortable and effective."

The businessman criticizes the Portuguese government for "forcing companies to treat employees like children".

How has your experience as an investor in Portugal been? In the US and in Austria, individuals take over their own lives. One feels individualism and the freedom to make decisions. Here in Portugal, ancient thinking makes it difficult to succeed quickly. The Government obliges companies to be responsible for everything concerning employees and to treat them like children. Sometimes it's even embarrassing, especially when you have highly qualified specialists on the team. Strikes are also a bothersome matter as they greatly reduce the flow of work. Here people want someone to work things out for them. As an investor, I prefer to work with those who know what they want and how to achieve it.

What is the biggest challenge?

So far it is the lack of knowledge about the culture. Good business requires stability. Any market, in itself, is unpredictable enough, so you need sustainable relations with the Government and with people inside and outside the company. Then you can act like an entrepreneur - because you know what to expect. But I am satisfied with the conditions this year and a half. I am grateful for the openness and for being welcomed in Madeira. We are happy to be growing here, hiring more people and paying taxes for that.