不应在云计算CRM中存储文件的4个原因

计算机世界

下载PDF
原文

在云计算CRM系统中收集和存储你的文件会造成大量的法律和财务问题。

许多公司喜欢通过云计算管理客户关系。与内部解决方案不同,它提供了极大的灵活性和便利性:你可以在旅途中通过任何设备访问数据,并在一天中的任何地点和时间继续工作。它还将存储、维护和安全放在服务提供商的肩上,而不是你的肩上。

然而,无论多么方便,都不建议在云CRM系统中收集和存储你的文件。下面列出的财务、法律和声誉方面的影响可能会鼓励你重新考虑你的在线文件处理策略,并使你的努力与使用云CRM的最佳实践保持一致。

1.你可能侵犯了数据居住法

根据你的企业经营所在的国家,你的客户数据可能必须存储在国家边界内。例如,中国要求所有的客户数据都要托管在中国的服务器上;澳大利亚控制其健康记录;德国保存其电信元数据;俄罗斯要求所有的个人数据都要托管在该国等等。

以前并不是这样的。在2013年爱德华-斯诺登揭露美国国家安全局不仅从美国公民,而且从世界各地收集大量私人数据之后,这些变化在2014年至2017年期间推出。现在在许多国家,某些行业被要求将客户数据保存在国内的服务器上。这样一来,他们只受制于这个国家的法规,而不能,例如,根据美国或其他国家的搜查令进行搜查。

当然,这些变化与云计算和数据自由交换的理念相矛盾。此外,对于一些公司来说,它们使得使用基于云的CRM系统成为不可能。

一些CRM供应商试图跟上变化,这也是事实。Salesforce正在扩大他们的地理代表性。Dynamics 365也在北美、欧洲和亚洲开设新的数据中心。然而,这种多样性并不能解决那些不在名单上的国家的云计算问题。而开设无尽的数据中心是直接不可能的。对于许多公司来说,在法律范围内的唯一选择是将客户的数据和文件放在云端之外。

2.你面临GDPR罚款的风险

自2018年5月25日起生效的《一般数据保护条例》规定了必须如何处理欧盟公民和居民的个人信息。它还预见了对违法行为的严重惩罚。

这一规定对CRM意味着什么?最重要的是,最终责任的问题。当你使用基于云的CRM系统时,谁更有责任遵守这些规则?根据GDPR,你作为一个公司是一个数据控制者,而你的云端CRM系统供应商是一个数据处理器。根据信息专员办公室的说法,在GDPR下,控制者比处理者有更多的义务,因为他们决定收集什么个人数据以及为什么收集,并对信息进行最终控制。处理者的义务较少,必须注意只按照相关控制者的指示来处理个人数据。

这意味着,如果出了问题,作为公司,你是最终要背负责任,遭受经济和名誉损失的,而不是你的CRM系统供应商。因此,现在对客户数据和文件有更多的控制权是势在必行的。

3.你为存储支付了太多的费用

虽然现在安全问题普遍存在,但云端的数据存储成本也成为许多公司的关键。根据Salesforce的评论,其免费的数据存储容量非常小,而当免费空间结束后,存储费用会变得和每年的许可证本身一样巨大。

事实上,Salesforce的额外存储空间是以50或500MB为单位,500MB的价格是$125/月。

其他云计算CRM如Dynamics 365、SugarCRM、Zoho和其他公司都有较便宜的存储空间,但它很容易用完。

虽然令人沮丧,但有一个为CRM供应商辩护的论点:该系统是为客户关系管理而创建的,而不是为文件存储。有其他的工具可以做这个!

4.你拖慢了你的系统

你在等待,等待账户的加载,这需要很长时间。很烦人,对吗?关于云计算CRM系统变慢的投诉最近在网上很常见,也许你自己也有过这样的经历。但是你能想象你的CRM每天要处理多少过多的信息吗?所有的发票、采购订单、报告、身份证复印件等都在你的系统中,抢走了它的空间,骚扰了它的处理能力。当然,还有其他影响你的云计算CRM速度的因素,但存储文件是最严重的因素之一。

该怎么做呢?

首先,决定你是否真的需要在云中保存文件。它是一种习惯还是一种必须的东西?如果你意识到不需要,你可以尝试手动将所有文件转移到更便宜的文件存储系统,或使用在后台自动运行的软件。

另外,建立一个 "清理 "程序来摆脱旧的记录,如多年前的发货确认记录。

最后,预先做一些规划。如果你知道你的组织会在你的CRM系统中囤积大量的文件,那就准备一个机制,这样就不会在重要的操作中影响你公司的业绩。

Thomas Berndorfer是Connecting Software(维也纳)的首席执行官,该公司是为业务流程提供整合、同步和生产力解决方案的全球供应商,拥有微软的金奖和银奖资格。我们的客户是私营和公共组织,包括加拿大政府。

4 Reasons why you should not store documents in cloud CRM

ComputerWelt

Download PDF
Original article

Gathering and storing your documents in a cloud CRM system can create massive legal and financial problems.

Many companies prefer to manage customer relations via the cloud. Unlike on-premise solutions, it provides great flexibility and convenience: you can access data from any device on the go and continue working from any location and time of the day. It also puts storage, maintenance and security on the shoulders of the service provider, and not yours.

However, collecting and storing your documents in a cloud CRM system is not recommended no matter how convenient it is. The financial, legal and reputational implications listed below may encourage you to reconsider your online document handling strategy and align your efforts with the best practices of using cloud CRM.

1. You may be infringing Data Residency Laws

Depending on the country where your business operates, your customers’ data may have to be stored within the country borders. For example, China requires all customer data to be hosted on China-based servers; Australia controls its health records; Germany keeps its telecommunications metadata; Russia demands all personal data to be hosted in the country and so on.

It hadn’t been like this before. The changes were rolled out between 2014 and 2017 after 2013 Edward Snowden revelations on the US National Security Agency collecting masses of private data not only from American citizens but from around the world. Now in many countries certain industries are required to keep customer data on in-country servers. In this way, they are subject only to this country regulations and can’t be, for example, searched under warrant either from the US or other countries.

Of course, these changes contradict the idea of cloud computing and free exchange of data. Moreover, for some companies, they make using cloud-based CRM systems impossible.

It is also true that some CRM providers attempt to keep up with changes. Salesforce is expanding their geographical representation. Dynamics 365 is opening new datacenters too in North America, Europe and Asia. Yet this variety doesn’t solve cloud computing issues of countries which are not on the list. And opening endless data centers is straightforward impossible. For many companies, the only option to stay within legal boundaries is to keep customers’ data and documents out of the cloud.

2. You risk GDPR fines

The General Data Protection Regulation effective since 25 May 2018 defines how personal information of EU citizens and residents must be handled. It also foresees serious penalties for violation.

What does this regulation mean for CRM? Most importantly, the issue of ultimate responsibility. When you are using a cloud-based system for your CRM, who is more responsible for adhering to the rules? Under the GDPR, you as a company are a data controller, and your cloud CRM system provider is a data processor. According to the Information Commissioner’s Office, controllers have more obligations under the GDPR than processors do, because they decide what personal data is collected and why, and exercise ultimate control over the information. Processors have fewer obligations and must be careful to only process personal data in line with the relevant controller’s instructions.

It means that if something goes wrong, you as a company are the ultimate to carry the responsibility and suffer financial and reputational losses, and not your CRM system vendor. Thus, having more control over customer data and documents is imperative nowadays.

3. You pay too much for storage

Although safety concerns are prevalent nowadays, the cost of data storage in the cloud also becomes critical for many companies. According to Salesforce reviews, its free data storage capacity is very small, and when free space is over, storage fees can get as huge as a yearly license itself.

Indeed, additional storage space from Salesforce is available in blocks of 50 or 500MB, with a price of $125/month for 500MB.

Other cloud CRMs as Dynamics 365, SugarCRM, Zoho and the rest come with cheaper storage, but it is easily exhaustible.

Frustrating as it is, one argument in defense of CRM providers: the system was created for customer relationship management and not for document storage. There are other tools for that!

4. You slow down your system

You are waiting and waiting for accounts to load, and it takes ages. Annoying, right? Complaints on cloud CRM systems slowing down are quite common on the web these days, and maybe you have experienced it yourself. But do you imagine how much excessive information your CRM processes every day? All invoices, purchase orders, reports, copies of IDs etc. sit in your system, steal its space and harass its processing capacity. Of course, there are other factors which influence the speed of your cloud CRM but storing documents is one of the gravest.

What to do about it?

Firstly, decide if you really need to keep documents in the cloud. Is it a habit or a must-have? If you realize that it is not needed, you can try moving all the documents to cheaper document storage systems manually or use software which does it automatically running at the background.

Alternatively, build a “cleanup” routine to get rid of old records like shipping confirmation records from years ago.

Finally, do some planning upfront. If you know that your organization will hoard masses of documents in your CRM system, prepare a mechanism so that it doesn’t impact your company’s performance halfway into important operations.

Thomas Berndorfer is CEO at Connecting Software (Vienna), a global provider of integration, synchronization and productivity solutions for business processes, holding Microsoft Gold and Silver competencies. Our clients are private and public organizations including the Government of Canada.