我们在销售不性感的软件时学到的5条经验(像热蛋糕一样)。

产品狩猎

下载PDF
原文

"如果你的咖啡订单超过了四个字,你就是问题的一部分。"

你是否曾经尝试过解释不性感的技术?这不是心脏不好的人的任务。

如果你的咖啡订单超过四个字,你就是问题的一部分。我们制作的软件在标题方面很少符合这个字数。通常情况下,解释会更长,包含 "复制器"、"提取器 "和 "存根 "等怪物。尝试解释它们的目的,你往往会遇到努力和困惑。

这是不性感的技术:非专业人士难以掌握的应用。为其他软件解决特定问题的应用程序。这些应用程序通常不是为终端用户设计的,而是为那些照顾他们的人设计的。

与此相反的性感科技自然会在媒体上得到更多的曝光:属于消费者的智能手机的应用程序很容易理解并与之相关。

如果解释产品是困难的,那么销售它就更难了。然而,当你的业务取决于它时,你别无选择。这里的每一条建议都是我们多年来从事这一工作的艰难学习过程的结果。

我们到底是谁?

我在Connecting Software公司从事公关工作,这是一家集成和同步解决方案的生产商。我们的目标用户是IT管理员、开发人员、系统集成商和顾问。

公司开始时规模不大,有一个来自欧洲小国的自筹资金公司的自然限制。今天,我们向政府和大型国际公司出售我们的应用程序。但通往成功的道路是坎坷的,所以我们在这里分享我们的一些发现。

1.市场并不总是准备好接受你的解决方案,但你需要找到它的一个特点来销售。

有时,市场还没有为你的突破性解决方案做好准备,特别是当你在你的联盟中发挥了作用。

2011年,我们推出了Connect Bridge--一个与Exchange服务器进行软件整合的平台。

该平台很好,但令我们沮丧的是,我们没有机会证明其价值。没有人相信一个小的IT公司有能力做到这一点。那是一个国王的级别,而我们却不在其列。

我们的团队试图向不同的决策者推销这个解决方案,直到我们最终与微软奥地利的技术解决方案专家进行了交谈。他们告诉我们(我是转述的)。如果你们的平台如此强大,为什么不解决像Dynamics CRM和SharePoint整合环境这样的大安全问题呢?(Dynamics CRM和SharePoint错过了权限和特权的同步--也就是受限制的数据可能在SharePoint中落入坏人之手)。

我们的开发人员检查了该软件,做了一个概念验证,并在四个月内推出了第一个版本。这很迅速,因为我们用自己的平台建立了它。又过了四个月,我们有了Dynamics CRM到SharePoint权限复制器的第一个客户。不久之后,我们就成为这个小众领域的全球市场领导者。这仍然是我们最成功的产品之一。

2.倾听你的客户。

客户对软件只有一个问题是非常罕见的:通常在同一领域有几个痛点。随着我们的CB权限复制器的功能和可用性越来越多,我们会越来越熟悉其他客户的头痛问题。结果发现,围绕着CRM系统、SharePoint、Exchange服务器和其他商业软件,有各种令人头疼的问题,呼唤着轻松整合。

因此,我们成为满足微软业务相关需求的一套解决方案,并获得了微软的金奖和银奖能力。

经验之谈。如果你对客户的抱怨很上心--即使与你的产品没有直接关系--它就会开辟更多的商业机会。

3.把你的产品变成你的销售人员。

营销策略取决于你所拥有的资源和你所面对的市场。你擅长销售吗?你擅长工程吗?

一开始,情况是令人绝望的:我们知道我们的产品很好,但我们无法扩大规模,因为我们没有什么销售能力。首先,因为中欧从未因其销售人员的人才库而闻名。其次,因为要与来自美国和英国的风险资本家和大公司的销售能力竞争,几乎是不可能的。

我们投资了几个销售人员,但都没有成功。一个既了解软件集成的所有复杂性又能很好地销售的人是很难找到的。

因此,我们接受了失败,并改变了我们的营销策略。

现在我们的销售人员就是产品。

我们没有走向世界,而是在我们的网站上欢迎世界。

我们专注于内容,把更多的精力放在我们的SEO排名上。对我们来说,这比传统销售更有效、更便宜。这也有助于保持产品价格的下降。

4.不要卖产品。卖的是试验。

我们从不喊 "买我们的东西!"相反,我们说 "试试我们的产品"。我们所有的营销努力都旨在说服一个人免费安装试用版,看看它是否能满足他们的需求。

当人们可以尝试使用你的产品时,建立信任就更容易了。他们失去了与一个来自不同国家(甚至不同大陆)的未知公司合作的恐惧。而在试验之后,他们会更好地理解需要付出多少努力,从而变得更愿意支付一个公平的价格。

使你的产品易于部署、运行和维护也会有帮助。如果有需要,我们的专家会免费培训人们如何使用该产品。这看到了良好的效果:如果客户认真对待试用,验证了其2-3天的能力,我们就能完成80%的交易。

5.当地人更清楚。

大公司经常将其IT系统管理外包给外部顾问。建立联系,把他们变成你的合作伙伴。当地的参与者可以更好地了解客户的需求,并可能在客户发现你的解决方案存在之前就提供给他。通过当地的合作伙伴,我们成功地完成了与加拿大司法部的最成功的交易之一。

综上所述

在我看来,销售不性感的B2B软件要比为终端用户营销简单的应用程序复杂得多。所以--如果你从事这项业务--要知道有很多工作要做。但未来是令人兴奋的,我祝愿你在复杂但非常重要的软件方面取得成功。

5 Lessons We Learned Selling Unsexy Software (Like Hotcakes)

Product Hunt

Download PDF
Original article

"If your coffee order is more than four words, you are part of the problem."

Have you ever tried explaining unsexy tech? It is not the task for the faint of heart.

If your coffee order is more than four words, you are part of the problem. The software we make rarely fits in this word count in terms of titles. Usually, the explanation is longer, containing monsters like “replicator”, “extractor” and “stubbing." Try explaining their purpose, and you will often be met with effort and confusion.

That is unsexy tech: applications that are hard to grasp for non-experts. Apps which solve specific issues for other software. Apps which are usually not for the end user, but for those who take care of them.

The opposite of this – sexy tech – naturally receives more exposure in media: apps that belong in consumer's smartphones are easy to understand and relate to.

If explaining the product is difficult, selling it is even worse. Yet, when your business depends on it, you have no choice. Each piece of advice here is a result of a tough learning process we’ve had over the years doing just that.

Who are we anyways?

I work in PR at Connecting Software, a producer of integration and synchronization solutions. Our target users are IT administrators, developers, system integrators, and consultants.

The company started modestly, with the natural constraints of a self-financed firm from a small European country. Today, we sell our apps to governments and large international corporations. But the road to success was bumpy, so we are here to share some of our findings:

1. The market is not always ready to accept your solution, but you need to find its one feature that sells.

Sometimes, the market is not ready for your ground-breaking solutions, especially if you are playing out of your league.

In 2011, we launched Connect Bridge – a platform for software integration to Exchange server.

The platform was good, but to our frustration, we didn’t get a chance to prove its worth. Nobody believed a small IT firm was capable of it. It was a king’s class, and we were out of rank.

Our team tried to pitch the solution to various decision makers until we finally got a conversation with Technology Solutions Professionals of Microsoft Austria. They told us (and I'm paraphrasing): If your platform is so powerful, why don't you solve a big security issue like the Dynamics CRM and SharePoint integration environment? (Dynamics CRM and SharePoint missed permissions and privileges synchronization — aka restricted data could get into wrong hands in SharePoint).

Our developers checked the software, made a proof of concept and launched the first version in four months. It was fast because we built it using our own platform. In four more months, we had the first customer for the Dynamics CRM to SharePoint Permission Replicator. Shortly after, we became the global market leaders in this small niche. It is still one of our most successful products.

2. Listen to your customer.

It is very rare that customers have only one problem with software: usually there are several pain points in the same area. As our CB Permissions Replicator was getting more features and usability, we would become more familiar with other clients’ headaches. Turns out, there are various nagging issues around CRM systems, SharePoint, Exchange server and other business software that cry out for easy integration.

So, we became a suite of solutions for Microsoft business-related needs and received Microsoft Gold and Silver competencies.

Takeaway: If you are attentive to your client’s complaints – even not directly related to your product — it opens up more business opportunities.

3. Turn your product into your salesperson.

A marketing strategy depends on the resources you have and the market you deal with. Are you good at sales? Are you good at engineering?

In the beginning, the situation was desperate: we knew our product was great, but we could not scale it up because we had little sales power. Firstly, because Central Europe has never been famous for its talent pool of salespeople. And secondly, because competing with salability of venture capitalists and huge companies from the U.S. and Britain was next to impossible.

We invested in several salespeople, but nothing worked. A person who both understood all the complexity of software integration and sold well was hard to find.

So, we accepted the failure and changed our marketing strategy.

Now our salesperson was the product.

Instead of going out to the world, we welcomed the world on our website.

We focused on content, putting more effort into our SEO ranking. For us, this has been more effective and cheaper than traditional sales. It's also helped keep the product price down.

4. Don’t sell the product. Sell the trial.

We never shout "buy our stuff!" Instead, we say "try our product." All of our marketing efforts aim at convincing a person to install a trial version for free and see if it covers their needs.

Building trust is easier when people can experiment with your product. They lose the fear of working with an unknown company from a different country (or even a different continent). And after a trial, they better understand how much effort it took to become more open to paying a fair price.

Making your product easy to deploy, run and maintain will also help. If the need arises, our experts train folks how to use the product for free. This sees good results: if a client treated the trial seriously, verified its capacity for 2-3 days, we close 80 percent of deals.

5. Locals know better.

Big corporations often outsource their IT system management to external consultants. Build connections and turn them into your partners. Local players can have a better understanding of customers' needs and may offer your solution before the customer finds out it exists. Through a local partner, we managed to close one of the most successful deals with the Department of Justice in Canada.

In conclusion

In my opinion, selling unsexy B2B software is much more complicated than marketing easy apps for end users. So — if you are in this business — know there is a lot of work to do. But the future is exciting and I wish you success with your complicated, but very important, software.