在Connecting Software,我们不使用风险资本或信贷。

与领导人的联系

下载PDF
原文

采访Connecting Software的首席执行官Thomas Berndorfer

  1. 您是如何以及何时想到要创建Connecting Software的?

Connecting Software或Connect Bridge的想法诞生于2009年。当我们有一个服务公司,并考虑如何成为一个产品公司。我们真正的计划是根据市场的需求,在绿地上建造产品。大多数情况下,你在项目上建立产品。但我们发现软件集成领域是一个制作产品的好地方。我们想让它变得更容易和更快,这样所有的IT项目都可以更好和更快地完成。

经过一个设计阶段,我们在2010年开始开发,并于2011年开始销售产品。

2.你在马德拉发现了什么机会?

马德拉是一个完美的工作和生活场所。在许多地区,你必须到其他地方去度假才能感觉良好。在这里,你既拥有完美的工作条件,也拥有完美的生活条件。那么马德拉人就很乐意在这个岛上工作。许多人不得不离开马德拉岛去找工作。这有助于与当地团队建立良好的联系,我们也在寻找国际专家,他们正在完成我们所需要的技能。

3.一路走来,你遇到的最大挑战是什么?

总是有很大的挑战,但在开始时要困难得多。我们没有任何风险资本,也没有信贷。我们完全靠自己融资,而且有时很难平衡从一个服务性公司到一个产品公司的转变。这里你有不同的态度,你需要不同的技能和理解。然后,还有一个任务是在两个地方设立公司,这需要在这些变化中给所有人一个良好的感觉。另一个巨大的挑战是要找到正确的方式来销售平台和解决方案。我们从传统的销售开始,开发了一种新的数字体验方式,只通过互联网销售。为此,你必须适应各种要求,以及信任和信誉的问题。我们以一种很好的方式,让每个人都能轻松地测试我们相当复杂的产品。我们使它们易于部署,易于理解,易于尝试。

4.你是用自己的钱创办公司的吗?到目前为止,你已经投资了多少?

是的,Connecting Software完全是自筹资金,大部分是通过其他兄弟公司交叉融资。我们不使用风险资本或信贷。在最初的8年里,总共有大约400万欧元。我们很高兴,我们很快就找到了第一批客户,并稳定地增长。

5.这场大流行病对Connecting Software的业务有何影响?

在最初的几个星期,这是一个冲击,我对所有的后果感到非常害怕。我们不得不进入封锁状态和家庭办公室。我不是一个朋友,因为我们彼此失去了联系,我认为工作是一种团队努力。我们一起赢,我们一起输。但这很容易。我们失去了一点生产力,一旦再次有可能,我们就重新开放了办公室。在此基础上,我们有一点波动,因为人们越来越容易分散对愿景的注意力。但总的来说,我们比预期的要好。从收入和增长的角度来看,2020年是一个成功的一年。令人遗憾的是,许多其他分支机构都有这样的问题,但对我们来说,它也带来了好的新人,他们看到仅仅工作是不够的,要想获得幸福。

6.2020年公司的情况如何,即在收入方面?

我们在小组中增长了约20%,在连接软件产品中增长了约30%。

7.马德拉国际商业中心和马德拉创业公司等组织对Connecting Software的重要性是什么?

因此,我们没有与国际商业中心有太多的互动,但与Startup madeira有很多接触。我们在那里租了我们的第一个办公室,我们从他们那里得到了很多技巧和窍门。如果没有马德拉创业公司,我们就不会如此有力地进入葡萄牙市场。

8.你目前有多少个办公室,就公司的收入而言,哪个办公室的影响更大?

目前我们有4个地点,马德拉岛发展最快,但要说哪一个是最重要的,是不公平的。我们作为一个团队跨越国界工作,我们都是成功或失败的一部分。由于销售和营销团队主要在马德拉,你可以说这个领域的重要性更高,但核心发展和管理也很重要。

9.谁是Connecting Software的客户?

我们的客户遍布世界各地,涉及任何行业或规模。我们为全球企业以及超过7个国家的国家部门提供服务。我们非常高兴支持加拿大政府和世界上一些最大的公司。但我们也有非常小的客户。只想说说一些名字。以下国家的政府组织。加拿大、美国、爱尔兰、英国、荷兰、德国、新加坡、澳大利亚和新西兰的政府组织,我们为私营部门服务。E.ON, ZF, Henkel, Infineon, Disney, Thyssen Krupp, Realogic等等。世界各地共有1000多个客户从我们这里获得了解决方案。

10.在大西洋中部的一个小岛上工作,并接触到世界各地的客户是什么感觉?

这简直是太棒了。我们很有动力,很高兴能在这里工作,并能在下班后或周末做一些奇妙的事情。现在最棒的事情是,你不需要总是在你的客户面前,你可以通过互联网与他们打交道。我们很高兴每天都有这么多不同的文化在显示器上,并从他们的需求和他们的商业文化中学习。

11.你所在的地域在业务和战略层面上有什么大的区别?

这些都是非常好的问题。但我总是告诉人们,在以英语为主的国家,人们非常有礼貌,绝不会批评你。即使他们不高兴,他们也不会给你一个负面的反馈,在东欧为主的国家,当他们不抱怨的时候,你有快乐的客户。他们永远不会给你好的赞美。所以你必须培养对不同方法的敏感性。葡萄牙语是非常有礼貌的,但不是非常准确或具体。在沟通中,有时情感方面比商业相关的方面更重要。因此,在较冷的国家(斯堪的纳维亚半岛、德国、美国),你要更直接地进入主题,而在较热的国家,你要谈很多其他话题。在这里找到正确的平衡是一种冒险,并带来了很多乐趣。

12.公司今年押注的产品/服务是什么?

我们今年正试图在我们的标准产品之外,进入两个战略领域。我们有一个独特的工业4.0解决方案,我们可以轻松地将工业与商业软件连接起来。另一件更重要的事情是我们的区块链方法。我们是数字区块链印章领域的专家。这意味着我们可以做任何数字文件的密封,从而使其不被篡改。这是一个真正的颠覆性技术,我们认为自己非常领先于市场。在这里,我们再次进入我们的软件集成领域,在这里,我们可以用区块链技术保护许多东西免受篡改和欺诈。这里的潜力非常大,可以成为一个改变游戏规则的技术。我们已经在这一领域申请了专利,到目前为止,我们还没有看到任何其他公司能够做出这样的解决方案。

13.你如何看待一年后的Connecting Software?

又是新的一年,30%再次增长,员工人数达到50多人,又有一些大国成为客户,并在商业软件和工业4.0领域掀起区块链技术的革命。

14.你在未来有什么新项目吗?你能告诉我们一些关于它们的情况吗?

今年,我们将在区块链密封领域创建几个标准产品。安全是另一个领域,我们也许在短期内得到一个国家的订单,这将增加与安全网络外软件的安全通信。但这是一种秘密的事情,所以我不会谈论太多。

15.这是你第一次创办自己的企业吗?在葡萄牙做一个企业家容易吗?

我在4个国家做了24年的企业家。在任何地方开展业务都不容易。在马德拉,我们有一些非常好的好处,但也有一些很大的缺点。一方面,马德拉作为一个数字热点将越来越有吸引力,另一方面,有一些公共部门,如海关,仍然生活在上个千年。部分人违反欧盟法律,以获得一点好处,另一方面,他们阻碍了企业家和人们来葡萄牙花钱。这种情况在世界任何地方都会发生。但马德拉岛和葡萄牙的人们都是非常友好和富有同情心的人,我在这里找到了非常好的朋友,到目前为止,我不后悔来到这里。

快速的问题。

最大的风险

社会主义者和战争

最大的错误

在复杂的市场中发挥作用

最大的教训

商业不是一切

最大的成就

作为一个成功的企业家,一个好父亲,一个在商业上和私下里为许多人服务的忠实朋友,我很幸运能在马德拉工作和生活。


Diário de Notícias da Madeira(马德拉岛公报)
2020年11月27日

Vida Económica
2020年7月12日

企业安全杂志
2020年5月1日

At Connecting Software, we do not use venture capital or credit

Link to Leaders

Download PDF
Original article

Interview of Thomas Berndorfer, CEO of Connecting Software

  1. How and when did you come up with the idea of creating Connecting Software?

The idea of Connecting Software or the Connect Bridge was born in 2009. When we had a service company and thought how to become a product company. We really planned on the greenfield the product based on market requirements. Mostly you build products on projects. But we identified the area of software integration as a good place to make a product. We wanted to make it easier and faster so that all IT projects can be done better and faster.

After a design phase we started to develop in 2010 and started to sell the product 2011.

2. What opportunities did you find in Madeira?

Madeira is a perfect place to work and life. In many areas you have to go to holidays to other places to feel good. Here you have both perfect working conditions and perfect lifestyle conditions. Then the Madeirans are happy to work on the island. Many had to leave Madeira to find work. This helps to create a good connection with the local team and we also look for international specialists who are completing our needed skills.

3. What were the biggest challenges you have encountered along the way?

There are always big challenges but in the beginning it was much more difficult. We do not have any venture capital nor credits. We financed all by ourselves and it was time to time difficult to balance the transformation from a service to a product company. Here you have different attitudes you need different skills and understanding. Then there was the task to have a company on two locations, it is needed to give all a good feeling with these changes. Another big challenge was to find the right way to sell the platform and the solutions. We started with classical sales and developed a new way of digital experience to sell only via the internet. For this you have to adapt to the requirements and the issues with trust and credibility. We did it in a good way that everybody can easily test our quite complex products. We made them easy to deploy, easy to understand and easy to try.

4. Did you launch the company with your own money? How much have you invested so far?

Yes, Connecting Software was fully self-financed and mostly cross financed through other sister companies. We don't use venture capital or credit. In total about 4 Million Euros over the first 8 years. We were happy that we found the first customers fast and grew steadily.

5. How has the pandemic affected Connecting Software's business?

In the first weeks it was a shock and I was very scared about all the consequences. We had to go into lockdown and home office. I am not a friend of it as we lose contact to each other and I see work as a team effort. We win together, we lose together. But it went quite easy. We lost a bit of productivity and as soon as it was possible again, we reopened the office. Based on that we had a bit of a fluctuation as people get easier to distract from the vision. But all in all, we survived it better than expected. From revenue and growing perspective 2020 was a successful year. It is sad that so many other branches have these problems but for us it also brought good new people, who saw that just work is not enough to be happy.

6. How was 2020 for the company, namely in terms of revenue?

We grew about 20% in the group and about 30% with the connecting software products.

7. What has been the importance of organizations such as the International Business Center of Madeira and Startup Madeira for Connecting Software?

So we did not have too much interaction with the International business center but with Startup madeira we had a lot of contact. We rented our first office there and we got a lot of tips and tricks from them. Without Startup Madeira we wouldn´t go so strong into the Portuguese location.

8. How many offices do you have at this moment and which one is the greater impact in terms of the company's revenue?

Currently we have 4 locations, Madeira is fastest growing but to say which one is the most important is not fair. We work over the borders as a team and we are all part of the success or a loss. As the sales and marketing team is mainly in Madeira you can say the importance is in this area higher but the core development and administration is also important.

9. Who are Connecting Software's customers?

We have customers all over the world in any industry or size. We serve global enterprises as well as national departments in more than 7 countries. We are very happy to support the Canadian Government and the some of the biggest companies in the world. But we also have very small customers. Just to drop some names: Governmental organizations in: Canada, USA, Ireland, England, Netherland, Germany, Singapore, Australia and New Zealand in the private sector we serve: E.ON, ZF, Henkel, Infineon, Disney, Thyssen Krupp, Realogic and many many more. Altogether more than 1000 customers all around the world are getting solutions from us.

10. What is it like to work from an island in the middle of the Atlantic and reach customers all over the world?

It is just fantastic. We are motivated and happy to be here and been able to do fantastic things after work or at the weekend. A great thing these days is, that you do not always need to be physical at your customer but you can deal with them over the internet. We are happy to have so many different cultures on the monitor every day and to learn from their needs and their business culture.

11. What are the big differences between the geographies where you are present at the business and strategy level?

These are very good questions. But I always tell the people that in English dominated countries the people are very polite and would never criticize you. Even if they are unhappy they will give you not a negative feedback, in eastern Europe dominate countries you have happy customers when they are not complaining. They will never give you good compliments. So you have to develop a sensitivity for different approaches. The Portuguese language is very polite but not very exact or concrete. In communication sometimes the emotional aspects are more important than the business related ones. So with colder countries (Scandinavia, Germany, USA) you come more direct to the point in warmer countries you talk a lot about other topics. To find here the right balance is an adventure and makes a lot of fun.

12. What products/services is the company's betting on for this year?

We are trying to go this year, next to our standard products into two strategic areas: We have a unique Industry 4.0 solution where we can easily connect the Industry with the business software. The other thing which is even bigger is our Blockchain approach. We are experts in the area of digital blockchain seals. This means we can do any digital file seal and therefore making it tamperproof. This is a real disruptive technology and we see ourselves very ahead of the market. Here we are again in our area of software integration and here we can protect with blockchain technology many things against tamper and fraud. The potential here is extremely high and can be a game changing technology. We have already patents pending in this area and we did not see any other company so far who can make solutions like this.

13. How do you see Connecting Software in one year?

Another year ahead, growing again 30% , reaching more than 50 employees, getting some more big countries as customers and revolutionize the Blockchain technology in the area of business software and Industry 4.0

14. Do you have any new projects on your mind for the future? Can you tell us a bit about them?

This year we will create a couple of standard product in the Blockchain sealing area. Security is another area where we are maybe in short getting an order from a country which will increase the secure communication with software outside secured networks. But this is a kind of a secret thing, so I will not talk too much about it.

15. Is this the first time you have launched your own business? Is it easy to be an entrepreneur in Portugal?

I am entrepreneur since 24 years in more than 4 countries. It is no-where easy to launch a business. We have here some very nice benefits in Madeira, we also have some big disadvantages. On one hand Madeira will be more and more attractive as a digital hotspot on the other side there are public sector departments e.g. customs who live still in the last millennium. Partny break EU law to get a little benefit on the other side they hinder entrepreneurs and people coming to spend money in Portugal. This happens everywhere in the world. But the people in Madeira and in Portugal are very friendly and sympatric people and I found very good friends here and I do not regret any minute to come here so far.

Quick questions:

Biggest risk

Socialists and war

Biggest mistake

To play in complicated markets

Biggest lesson

Business is not everything

Biggest accomplishment

Being a successful entrepreneur a good father and a loyal friend for many people in business and privately, being blessed that I can work and live in Madeira


Diário de Notícias da Madeira
November 27, 2020

Vida Económica
July 12, 2020

Enterprise Security Magazine
May 1, 2020