机会之海

Érica Franco - Diário de Notícias da Madeira (马德拉岛)

下载PDF
原文

2020年,Diogo、Pedro和André有机会搬到这个天堂岛,在Connecting Software这个在马德拉岛发展的国际IT公司接受新的职业挑战。

迪奥戈-佩雷拉今年33岁,出生在丰沙尔,和其他许多当地人一样,他搬到里斯本上大学。对于一个在信息技术(IT)领域有雄心壮志的人来说,加上天生的通信天赋,15年前的马德拉似乎 "太小了"。

我在里斯本住了大约14年,去年,我住在波尔图。我离开这里学习,并立即开始工作。然后我和那里的人结婚了。我在那里已经有了一个家和所有的东西,而且我已经习惯了某种生活节奏,再回到家乡没有任何意义。

对于这位年轻的创业者来说,一切都很顺利,2019年5月,一场严重的摩托车事故和长达一年的恢复期让他改变了方向。

"我发生了一次事故,是一次震动。真的很严重(......),我不得不重新学习走路、坐着等。这让我有点下不来台。不是所有的东西都是买来的,不是所有的东西都和事业有关。不管有多少家庭,他们都不是主要的,时间太短,我们不能不陪他们。我在[2020年]7月来到这里,对父母说。"如果让我来决定,我现在就会离开。在这里我有我想要的一切,我需要的东西"。

在这一点上,他的历史与Connecting Software公司的历史有交集,Connecting Software公司是一家总部位于奥地利的国际软件集成公司,2017年,由于与马德拉大学的合作,决定在大区开设分公司。

"我通过LinkedIn与Start-up Madeira的Carlos Lopes Soares交谈,告诉他我很想回来,但我不知道有什么机会。他回答说:"你在这里有很多机会。"你有很多机会在这里。"我很惊讶。我不知道有这么多IT公司,或者像Connecting Software这样与国外客户合作的公司(......)"出去后能回来重视马德拉岛是件好事。在这里的时候,我们觉得一切都很渺小,当我们出去的时候才发现毕竟不是这样的,一切都在这里"。

同样的情况也发生在28岁的Pedro Noronha身上。他离开马德拉岛到波尔图学习机械工程,因为这里没有这个课程。毕业后,他做了几份与工业环境有关的工作,最后从波尔图搬到了里斯本,并在那里愉快地定居下来。回到马德拉岛并不是计划中的一部分,直到新的冠状病毒大流行,首都的禁锢让他对大海和自然的热爱更加响亮。

"当所有人都被关在家里的隔离区时,我和我的女友意识到,我们错过的不是乘车去西班牙的可能性。我们错过了去海滩或去山里远足,错过了马德拉岛的一切(.),所以出现了这个机会,我决定回去"。

André Rafael的旅程并不完全相同,因为他来自Leiria地区。然而,它们就像他女朋友所做的根一样,让他接受了这个新的挑战。改变,他承认,"是复杂的",因为它发生在很短的时间和一些限制 "鉴于我们生活的背景。适应是 "相对简单的"。

"这里的生活方式是完全不同的:它是更平静,与自然的接触要大得多,没有那么多的城市位置,一切都很接近。所有这些都有助于提高生活质量",当然。

Diogo、Pedro和André是Connecting Software公司最近招聘的三名员工,该公司目前在马德拉岛有18名员工,团队平均年龄为30岁。该公司CEO对《DIÁRIO》说,目标是 "很快 "拥有20名员工,"也许明年就能达到40名员工"。

"最初我来到这里,是因为在奥地利和斯洛伐克没有找到合格的人才,偶然间,我发现这里有这所小大学。我取得了良好的第一次接触,有机会认识了一些人。现在情况越来越好了。我们只想在这里进行研究,对其他地方的投资不感兴趣",Thomas Berndorfer肯定地说。

"马德拉岛是一个梦幻般的生活场所",指示说。"它离欧洲大陆很近,全年天气都很好,食物很好,人民很友好,我们有欧元,我们有社会保障.真的是一个完美的地方"。

对于IT行业来说,潜力更大。"我通常开玩笑说,我们现在是在 "马德拉硅谷"。我们有潜力在这里创造数以千计的工作岗位(......)IT行业是完美的。人们希望生活在一个宜人的地方,我们不需要大型工业或货物运输--因为这是岛上的问题之一--我们只需要一台电脑和一个良好的互联网连接(这里的互联网非常好)。所以很多人愿意来马德拉岛生活",他坚持认为。

2020年,Diogo、Pedro和André有机会搬到 "天堂岛",在Connecting Software接受新的职业挑战,这是一家希望在马德拉岛发展的技术领域的国际公司。所有这一切都发生在一场大流行中。

另一方面,他强调,该岛提供税收优惠的事实也是吸引更多国际公司的资产。"这是一个很好的概念,因为它针对的是欧洲共同体最脆弱的地区。马德拉岛与欧洲大陆并不相连,这使得它远离[欧洲]中心成为天然的劣势。自由贸易区可以'平衡'竞争市场"。

对于这一切,Thomas Berndorfer建议政府 "不要再把所有的钱都放在酒店里",而要投资于IT行业。他认为,"所有的钱都投在了促进旅游业的发展上,现在我们遇到了一个问题:旅游业和酒店都在关闭,从来没有想过要环顾四周,意识到可以把其他企业带到马德拉岛"。

在我们所处的不确定情况下,像Connecting Software这样的公司在市场经济萎缩阶段作为 "新鲜空气 "出现。它展示了马德拉岛所能提供的东西,并 "为岛屿提供一些回报"。

"我们想给岛上一些东西作为交换(......),我们打算从外面雇用那些厌倦了大城市或北欧寒冷生活的人,但最重要的是,我们想给合格的马德兰人一个返回岛上的机会",托马斯-贝恩多弗拍摄。

Sea of Opportunities

Érica Franco - Diário de Notícias da Madeira

Download PDF
Original article

The year 2020 gave Diogo, Pedro and André the chance to move to this paradise island and embrace a new professional challenge at Connecting Software, an international IT company that is growing in Madeira.

Diogo Pereira, 33 years old, was born in Funchal, and like so many other locals, he moved to Lisbon to go to college. For someone with ambition in the area of ​​Information Technology (IT) and a natural aptitude for Communication, Madeira seemed “too small” 15 years ago.

I lived in Lisbon for about 14 years, and in the last year, I lived in Oporto. I left here to study and immediately started working. Then I married someone from there. It didn’t make any sense to return home after I already had a home and all my things there, and I was used to a certain pace of life.

Everything was going well for the young entrepreneur when, in May 2019, a serious motorcycle accident and a year-long recovery led him to change course.

“I had one of those accidents that is a shake. It was really serious (…) I had to learn to walk, sit, etc. again. It made me go down to the earth a little bit. Not everything is bought, not everything has to do with the career. No matter how many families there are, they weren’t the main ones and the time is too short for us not to be with them. I came here in July [2020] and said to my parents: ‘If it was up to me I would leave right now. Here I have everything I want, what I need”.

At this point, his history intersects with that of Connecting Software, an international software integration company based in Austria that, in 2017, decided to open a branch in the Region, thanks to a partnership with the University of Madeira.

“I spoke with Carlos Lopes Soares from Start-up Madeira, through LinkedIn, and told him that I would love to come back, but I didn’t know what opportunities existed. To which he replied: “You have many opportunities here.” I was surprised. I didn’t know that there were so many IT companies, or companies like Connecting Software that worked with customers abroad (...) “It is good to go out and be able to come back and value Madeira. When we are here, we think everything is small, when we go out we realize that it is not like that after all and that everything is here”.

The same happened with Pedro Noronha, 28 years old. He left Madeira to study Mechanical Engineering in Porto, since the course does not exist here. After graduation, he had several jobs related to the industrial environment and ended up moving from Oporto to Lisbon, where he settled with joy. Returning to Madeira was not part of the plans, until the pandemic of the new Coronavirus hit and the confinement in the capital made his love for the sea and nature speak louder.

“When everyone was locked up in quarantine at home, what my girlfriend and I realized was that what we missed was not the possibility of going to Spain by car. We missed going to the beach or for a hike in the mountains and all that exists in Madeira (...), so this opportunity arose, and I decided to go back”.

André Rafael’s journey was not exactly the same, as he is from the Leiria area. They were, however, like roots made by his girlfriend that made him embrace this new challenge. The change, he confesses, “was complicated”, because it happened in a very short time and with some restrictions “given the context in which we live. The adaptation was” relatively simple “.

“The lifestyle here is completely different: it is much calmer, the contact with nature is much greater, there is not so much that city location and everything is close. All of this contributes to a better quality of life “, of course.

Diogo, Pedro and André are three of the recent hires from Connecting Software, which currently employs 18 people in Madeira, in a team with an average age of 30 years. The objective - the CEO of the company said to the DIÁRIO - is to have 20 workers “soon” and “to reach 40 employees perhaps already next year”.

“Initially when I came here it was because I didn’t find qualified personnel in Austria and Slovakia and, accidentally, I discovered that this small university exists here. I made good first contacts and had a chance to meet people. It’s going better and better. We just want to research here, we are not interested in investing anywhere else “, affirms Thomas Berndorfer.

“Madeira is a fantastic place to live”, says the indication: “It is close to the European continent, the weather is great all year round, the food is good, the people are friendly, we have the Euro, we have Social Security… and really a perfect place “.

For the IT sector, the potential is even greater. “I usually joke and say that we are at “Silicon Madeira”. We have the potential to create thousands of jobs here (…) The IT sector is perfect. People want to live in a pleasant place, we don’t need large industries or transport of goods- because that is one of the problems on the island - we only need a computer and a good Internet connection (and the Internet here is very good). So many people would be willing to come to Madeira to live”, he insists.

The year 2020 gave Diogo, Pedro and André the chance to move to the “paradise island” and embrace a new professional challenge at Connecting Software, an international company in the area of Technologies that wants to grow in Madeira. All of this in the middle of a pandemic

On the other hand, he highlights that the fact that the island offers tax benefits is also an asset to attract more international companies. “It is a good concept because it is aimed at the most fragile areas of the European community. Madeira is not connected to the continent, which makes it a natural disadvantage to be far from the center [of Europe]. The Free Trade Zone allows to ‘balance’ the competitive market”.

For all this, Thomas Berndorfer suggests to the government that “stop putting all the money in the hotels” and invest in the IT sector. “All the money is invested in promoting tourism and now we have a problem: tourism and hotels are closing, and it was never thought to look around and realize that other businesses can be brought to Madeira”, he maintains.

In the uncertain scenario in which we live, companies like Connecting Software appear as a “breath of fresh air” in an economic contraction phase for the market. It shows what Madeira has to offer and “give something in return to the island”.

“We want to give something in exchange for the island (…) we intend to hire people from outside who are tired of living in big cities or the cold of Northern Europe, but above all we want to give the qualified Madeirans the opportunity to return to the island” shoots Thomas Berndorfer.